Just another ‘how to’ art book ? You Decide !

Posted: 06/04/2015 in Uncategorized

Copy of Final E-Book Cover Design

THE STORY OF MY E-BOOK AND HOW IT CAN GET YOU PAINTING FAST

Following years of reading art books, and having a busy life, I knew exactly what used to make me glaze over, and what didn’t.

So when I decided to write my own book ‘Watercolours for Beginners’  I instinctively knew what information other people would need, and what they wouldn’t. And with my face to face teaching experiences  I knew what they would need to know, and what they didn’t.

MY OWN EXPERIENCE (AND YOU MAY RELATE TO SOME OR ALL OF THIS) IS DEMONSTRATED IN THIS SIMPLE

QUESTION AND ANSWER SESSION ?

Q. THERE ARE LOTS OF RULES WITH WATERCOLOUR PAINTING AND IT SCARES ME…..YOU CAN’T USE WHITE PAINT, YOU CAN’T CORRECT ERRORS, YOU MUST STRETCH YOU PAPER ETC ETC.

A. This is covered at the very start of the book with sections on simple theory, golden rules, and busting all those rules and myths. Most people are shocked by these revelations, especially art officiando’s and art critics.

Q.I FIND MYSELF FIDDLING AND DON’T ENJOY PAINTING

A. Most people (me included) start that way as it seems more ‘in control’ but it is not enjoyable, and very time consuming, and my book is designed to make you a loose, confident artist, whilst also having fun. This example took me over 90 hours with very fine mapping pens.

image333

Q.ALL MY PAINTINGS SEEM DIRTY AND MUDDY

A. The single most common problem for beginners and one easily solved at the very start of my book. Gasps and comments from my students like ‘no one ever explained that before’ or ‘my paintings look so much fresher now’ are the results of just a simple explanation of ‘The Golden Time’ covered on one of the earliest pages. As you can see my work was muddy too in the early days. Lesson 11 ‘Avoiding Mud and Keeping it Clean’ tells you everything you need to know to achieve fresh luminescent paintings.

image11521

image599

Q.I AM TOO BUSY TO PAINT EVEN THOUGH I WOULD LOVE TO

A. For busy people, two features of my book are very simple text and clear graphics. One of which is a ‘lightbulb’ and it’s possible to simply skim read the book, using these lightbulbs, ensuring you don’t miss those really important bits.

image973

Q.I JUST GLAZE OVER WHEN IT COMES TO COLOUR WHEELS, EYE LEVELS AND PERSPECTIVE

A. Put quite simply you don’t need to understand any of it, you simply have to have the ability to copy what’s in front of you. Chapter 1 has this covered, as does Lesson 3 ‘Really looking and painting what you see’.

image975Color itself can be quite scary to a beginner, so Lesson 2 ensures that you are happy with painting tonally before moving onto colour mixing, which is featured in Lesson 7

image504

Q.I CAN’T DRAW VERY WELL !

A. One of the nicest (and most commercial) techniques you will learn is ‘wet in wet’ technique, which involves absolutely no drawing skills. My book shows you how you can produce beautiful paintings without any drawing skills whatsoever. Lesson 9 ‘The three main techniques’ covers all those techniques.

image583

Q. WHAT ABOUT ALL THOSE SPECIAL TIPS AND TRICKS ?

A. I have that covered too in Lesson 10 ‘Other techniques and neat tricks’ shows you how to use masking fluid, salt and other household items to enhance your paintings.

image1861

My contents page shows you the rich content and the ‘step by step’ layout of the book. You can download a couple of pages FREE by clicking on the link here….

E-Book Sample Page

IN SHORT IF YOU WANT TO ENJOY THIS MOST BEAUTIFUL OF MEDIUMS

WATERCOLOURS FOR BEGINNERS IS THE ONLY BOOK YOU NEED

AND THE FIRST 100 DOWNLOADS CAN PAY AS LITTLE AS 1 US $


DOWNLOAD IT NOW AND LET YOUR PERSONAL ART JOURNEY REALLY BEGIN

Happy Painting !

Comments
  1. […] my book, prior to my live lessons by filling in the contact form below. Or read about it on another blog here Just like my book, if you expect to find instruction on Colour Theory, Perspective or all the other […]

Leave a Reply

